An average affair – review of Kerry King’s debut album “From Hell I Rise”

Author Benedetta Baldin - 25.4.2024

I love music so much, and one thing I love almost just as music is quotes. Max Beerbohm once said, “Only mediocrity can be trusted to be always at its best.” That is probably the most fitting description I could find to describe Kerry King‘s debut album “From Hell I Rise”, to be released on May 17th.

Don’t get me wrong, the 46 minutes of the record are quite enjoyable, the production is good and we must not complain that we have new music from Slayer‘s founding guitarist. Honestly, though, the expectations were high and we’ve been partially let down. There is complexity and intricacy in King’s guitar work, but perhaps that is not enough to hold the weight of a whole record on his shoulders.

Mark Osegueda does a fine job on vocals, Phil Demmell with elegance accompanies and intertwines with King on guitar, Kyle Sanders’s bass blends in the mix (sometimes a bit too much), and drummer Paul Bostaph majestically completes the line-up, excelling in his craft now more than ever.

The only sparks of experimentation are found in “Tension” and “Shrapnel“, so don’t think for a second that this record is not worthy of listening and appreciation, because it is. While not inherently flawed, this album struggles to leave a lasting impression, lacking the innovative or emotional resonance that other works with Kerry King have had. More often than not, the tracks fade into the background rather than demanding attention.

In conclusion, if you wish for a groundbreaking record, “From Hell I Rise” is not going to be of your liking. But, if you are looking to hear a consistent sound for Kerry King, this album might just be your favorite. So don’t judge it before you listen to it: you probably will have a different opinion from me, and that’s the beauty and subjectivity of music.


  1. Diablo
  2. Where I Reign
  3. Residue
  4. Idle Hands
  5. Trophies Of The Tyrant
  6. Crucifixation
  7. Tension
  8. Everything I Hate About You
  9. Toxic
  10. Two Fists
  11. Rage
  12. Shrapnel
  13. From Hell I Rise