10 most anticipated metal releases of May

Author Maria Goe - 3.5.2022

Check out the list with 10 metal albums that will be released in May, to keep you on top of the main news and not miss any release! 

Septicflesh – “Modern Primitive”

The Greek symphonic black metal band will release their eleventh studio album “Modern Primitive” on May 20th via Nuclear Blast Records!

Halestorm – “Back From the Dead”

Halestorm’s fifth studio album, “Back From The Dead” will also be released on May 6 via Warner Music.


James LaBrie – “Beautiful Shade of Gray”

Dream Theater frontman James LaBrie will release his solo album “Beautiful Shade of Grey” on InsideOut Music on May 25th.

Bloodhunter – “Knowledge Was The Price”

The death metal band from Galicia, Spain, led by Nervosa singer Diva Satanica, will release their new album “Knowledge Was The Price” on the 27th.

Ibaraki – “Rashomon”

Ibaraki is a new black metal project, led by Matt Heafy, lead singer and guitarist of Trivium, and will be released on May 6th. “Rashomon” in addition to having several special appearances, such as Gerard Way (My Chemical Romance) and Nergal (Behemoth), had the production and composition by the great Ihsahn (Emperor).

Ratos de Porão – “Necropolítica”

Scheduled to be released on May 13, one of the biggest punk/thrash metal legends in Brazil and Latin America, Ratos de Porão will release their brand new album “Necropolítica”.

Decapitated – “Cancer Culture”

Polish death metal band Decapitated will release their eighth album “Cancer Culture” on May 27 via Nuclear Blast Records.

Evergrey – “A Heartless Portrait (The Orphean Testament)”

“A Heartless Portrait (The Orphean Testament)” will be the thirteenth studio album by the Swedish progressive metal band, and will be released on May 20th.

Anvil – “Impact is Imminent”

One of the pioneers of the “new wave” of heavy metal, Anvil will release on the 20th through AFM Records their new and nineteenth album “Impact Is Imminent”.

Three Days Grace – “Explosions”

“Explosions” is the seventh album by Canadian band Three Days Grace and will be released on May 6 via RCA Records.